The Northern Virginia Bankruptcy Bar Association was formed in 1991 by a group of Alexandria Bankruptcy Court practitioners who wished to create an association to promote professionalism and collegiality among members of the bar and competency in the practice of bankruptcy law.  Since its founding, NVBBA’s membership has been limited to practitioners admitted to practice in the Alexandria Bankruptcy Court.  The vision of the founders to promote professionalism, collegiality, and competency manifested itself in regular monthly meetings where members meet socially in a relaxed environment and participate in structured programs providing CLE credit.  NVBBA’s annual calendar includes programs that typically will satisfy all members’ CLE obligations, including a 2-hour ethics program each October, an evening event with the Alexandria judges preceded by cocktails and dinner, and presentations by our judges from Richmond and Norfolk.


Christopher A. Jones


Daniel M. Press

President Elect

Justin P. Fasano

Vice President

Jennifer Kneeland


Donald. F. King


Thomas J. McKee, Jr.

Past President


  • Bradford Englander

  • John T. Farnum

  • Justin Fasano

  • Michael Freeman

  • David W. Gaffey

  • Christopher A. Jones

  • Donald F. King

  • Karen M. Lang

  • Alexander M. Laughlin

  • Robert M. Marino

  • Thomas J. McKee, Jr.

  • Daniel M. Press

  • Lawrence E. Rifken

  • Jeremy B. Root

  • Madeline A. Trainor

  • Kaitlin Walker